#1 Creative Process – Assessed Blog Posts…

Throughout this module I have gone through many creatively critical process to challenge and develop my work, to create the most relatable forms of media, which compare to existing forms of new media around at the moment.

To begin with, I had to build an identity for myself, and throughout the branding process I wanted to create something that was unique and would represent myself in a professional manner.

I first started by looking at existing logos, and found out what they all had in common and what set themselves aside from the others. I found that the main element that set themselves aside where their fonts. In the first couple of weeks, Mez showed us a table of logos, which only consisted of one letter from the logo. Just by seeing one letter of the company’s logo I could associate most of the logos to their brands. Such as the M in McDonald’s. Therefore it made me realise that the key thing that set themselves aside were the fonts that had been used.

This then got me thinking that I had to create something different, something unique. However I also found it important that it related to the profession of media. Therefore I experiment with a style on Photoshop. This style consisted of me cutting certain letters from existing magazine/newspaper’s and fitting them together, almost like what you would see on a generic ransom note in films. (Hopefully less sinister looking).

After playing around for a while, I compiled five letters and slotted them together to make my name. Although it looked a little rough around the edges, I really liked they idea and decided to peruse this style.

After deciding on a name to brand myself with, “DMB Media”, the DMB standing for my initials I tried this process again with these letters.  Once I had done this I was really happy with the way it looked, this would now be the very basic form of my logo.

When I began branding my social media with this logo, such as my WordPress account. I found that to use it successfully I would have to use my logo in a banner form. To fill the empty space behind the letters i decided to use pictures behind the text, however I wanted these pictures to be personal to myself, once again to reflect my professionalism. To do this I used existing photography work I had produced as the base, which once I had put the whole thing together, came together quite well.

Throughout the module I feel that the process that took the most development was creating the website for out television shows.

Once again I found that I had to brand, however this time, it wasn’t to reflect my personal work, but to reflect a television show that our group had created. Throughout the process of creating the actual programme, our group decided that the colour scheme would be red and black and I created a logo to go with this theme accordingly. Therefore the colour scheme red and black and the theme of magic would have to follow through onto my website.

Once I had set up a base template for the site everything seemed to fit together quite well. I had produced a basic website that had all the relevant pages, many of which I had taken inspiration from on existing television show websites such as “This Morning”.

However once I had looked over what I had already produced from an audience point of view, I found that the layout looked quite amateurish and empty.

When doing my A levels I was told a piece advice that I remembered when looking over my work. This advice being, “don’t leave empty gaps where necessary”. I looked over my work and realised there were an endless amount of empty gaps. Therefore I changed all of my pages around and made it more tight and full. Once I had done this I saw a massive difference and realised that just by doing this simple task, it instantly looked more professional. By going through this creative process I found myself more proud of what I had accomplished and glad I didn’t produce my website in just a week. I was glad I had spent over a month getting it perfect for what I wanted to produce.

When producing the actual television show, I found that I may have had too much creative input at times. Although I was only the vision mixer I found myself over whelmed with ideas for things such as set design, VT’s and the use of shots in the programme. The reason I say I think I may have had too much creative input was that I got so carried away and excited that a member of our group felt that I was trying to take their role off of them. Once I had been told this I realised that at the end of the day, that is their job. However I still wanted my ideas to be heard, so I went about it in a more suggestive and subtle manor, which came across a lot better, and in the end, my ideas were mostly used. Therefore if I was to redo anything involving my creative process it would be that when working in a large group, I would remember that everyone else has ideas, and that sometimes all I can do is suggest mine.

Overall im really happy with the way I have gone about developing my work in this module and I feel that this is probably the module that I have done the most development with my thoughts, ideas and process’s and by doing this, I feel that I have hopefully produced my best work.

Leave a comment